TheUrbanFolkQuartet
380
The Urban Folk Quartet

About

The Urban Folk Quartet’s distinguishing features have much less to do with the traditional idea of genre. Yes, this is fiddle-led music that draws heavily from celtic dance forms and traditional song but from there on in it is unlike any folk band you have ever heard. Just as English country dance unassumingly met with big band jazz musicianship in the mid 20th century, The UFQ’s approach to the folk ethos is to embrace any and every influence that genuinely makes sense of their time and place and makes sense in their music. From funk grooves to middle-eastern melodies, afrobeat to north Indian rhythms.

Albums

Other Bits

Gigs

Date Details
Thursday 19th October 2017 The Stables
Wavendon
Thursday 2nd November 2017 Unit 23
Totnes
Friday 10th November 2017 SouthPort Fiddle Festival
Southport
Wednesday 15th November 2017 Eyemouth Hippodrome
Scotland
Thursday 16th November 2017 Cumberland Arms
Newcastle
Saturday 18th November 2017 Warwick Arts Centre
Warwick
Wednesday 22nd November 2017 Old Queen's Head
London
Thursday 23rd November 2017 Foxlowe Arts Centre
Leek
Friday 24th November 2017 Artix Centre
Bromsgrove
Saturday 25th November 2017 Stop Cafe
Shrewsbury
LOAD MORE