TheUrbanFolkQuartet
380

The Urban Folk Quartet’s distinguishing features have much less to do with the traditional idea of genre. Yes, this is fiddle-led music that draws heavily from celtic dance forms and traditional song but from there on in it is unlike any folk band you have ever heard. Just as English country dance unassumingly met with big band jazz musicianship in the mid 20th century, The UFQ’s approach to the folk ethos is to embrace any and every influence that genuinely makes sense of their time and place and makes sense in their music. From funk grooves to middle-eastern melodies, afrobeat to north Indian rhythms.


Current Tour Dates

Date Details
Fri 21-07-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Secret Garden Party
Sat 22-07-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Music On The Marr Festival
Sun 23-07-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Music On The Marr Festival
Fri 04-08-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Ringsted Festival
Denmark
Tue 15-08-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Broadstairs Folk Week 2017
Sun 27-08-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Shambala Festival
Thu 19-10-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
The Stables
Wavendon
Thu 02-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Unit 23
Totnes
Fri 10-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
SouthPort Fiddle Festival
Southport
Wed 15-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Eyemouth Hippodrome
Scotland
Thu 16-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Cumberland Arms
Newcastle
Sat 18-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Warwick Arts Centre
Warwick
Wed 22-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Old Queen's Head
London
Thu 23-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Foxlowe Arts Centre
Fri 24-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Artix Centre
Bromsgrove
Sat 25-11-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Stop Cafe
Shrewsbury
Fri 08-12-17 The Urban Folk Quartet
Gatehouse Theatre
Stafford

Competition - Free to enter

Jess Morgan - Edison Gloriette

Competition Image